Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindainflorida

LOOKING for: fresh lemons

lindainflorida
12 years ago

i have been here almost all day, looking at recipes, photos

of your dinners,,,darn it...can (may) i come and visit??

i have been cooking since i was 11 years old.....but being alone, i just don't cook like i use to. oh, i don't like opening cans, and i use fresh, but it still isn't the same...anyway, i have 14 HUGE fresh lemons from a friends tree..please help me with some ideas how to use them up, before they go bad...i mean huge, i will juice some of them. but i still need ideas and recipes...this is without the greatest dot com on the who internet...love ya all

Linda

Comments (6)

• carol_in_california
    12 years ago

Here is my very favorite lemon recipe.....
    Lemon Brownies recipe

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Use 9X13 inch pan.
    Brownies
    1.5 cups flour
    1.5 cups sugar
    1 cup real butter- room temperature
    4 eggs- room temperature
    juice from half a lemon....I use over 1/4 cup
    zest from one lemon
    (1 tsp. baking powder) I use it but can be left out.

Glaze
    1 cup powdered sugar
    2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice and zest as desired. I use lots.

Grease and flour pan.
    Put dry ingredients into a bowl. Add butter and mix. ( I use food processor and just pulse it a few times.)
    Stir together eggs, juice and zest and stir into batter. ( I use food processor for this, too.) I don't over mix it.
    Pour into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes or until set.
    Original recipes call for cooling the brownies before mixing up glaze but I mix it up after removing from oven and add mixed glaze while still very warm.
    I am fortunate to have a huge, very productive lemon tree in our yard.
    I sometimes zest some lemon rinds and let them air dry.....and I keep some lemon juice in the freezer for when I am too lazy to go and pick some.

• sweet_betsy No AL Z7
    12 years ago

QUICK SHRIMP SCAMPI