Return to the Recipe Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
RECIPE: Don't know the difference and need the recipe, Do you?

Posted by rottenlivia (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 29, 07 at 11:12

My daughter made a frosting at school, in high school, called a French Buttercream. I have had regular Buttercream before and was struck by how this frosting just seemed to melt in your mouth. No sugar crunch or hardness. Delicate sweet. But everyone raved over the way it melted in your mouth. I can't reach her over the next week or two. Would anyone have a recipe? I am a novicccccccee baker. Appreciate the help.
Kim

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: RECIPE: Don't know the difference and need the recipe, Do yo

Leave off the word "French" and you'll find all sorts of recipes for buttercream icing. Here are a few:

Here is a link that might be useful: Buttercream Icing

o

Google French buttercream and you will find lots of recipes....some using egg whites, beaten to lighten the frosting and others using folded in whipped cream and still others using a cooked custard with milk, eggs and flour as a base and adding butter and sugar to that. I like one with whole eggs like the link below.
Linda C

Here is a link that might be useful: french buttercream

o

Thank you! Plan to try a few this weekend. Will let you know if it worked out.
Kim

o

The trick with smooth butter cream is to beat it for a long time. Here's one of my favorite. It is so smooth and velvety it almost melts in your mouth.

BUTTERCREAM FROSTING

Cream l/2 cup butter with l/2 cup shortening
Cream till very soft. Slowly add 1 cup granulated sugar and beat 10 minutes.
Heat a small can of evaporated milk (one of those tiny 5 l/2 oz. cans) till luke warm (not hot) and slowly beat into sugar and butter mixture. Add 1 tsp. vanilla and beat for 5 more minutes.