Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northerner_on

LOOKING for: Post Christmas Review

northerner_on
14 years ago

Now that Christmas is over I have a few questions about baking:

Firstly, I found a chiffon cake recipe here, got one from my sister-in-law, and found one in Joy of cooking. They were more or less the same and had the same directions: use an ungreased, clean pan for the batter, and hang the pan upside down after baking. I had an almost-new, non-stick bundt pan, followed the directions, and could not get the cake out of the pan. I ended up serving it out of the pan. Can anyone tell me why it must be clean and un-greased? And why do you need to hang the cake upside down after baking? Has anyone ever been able to get a chiffon cake out of the pan cleanly? I would imagine a greased, floured pan would work, but what do I know?

Secondly, I have been baking chocolate cup-cakes for my son for several years and cannot seem to find a nice moist result. The one I have been using recently only partly works if I double the baking powder. It is called chocolate pound cake, called for a loaf pan, but I use it in cup cake paper cups. This year I followed the recipe to a 'T', but it turned out to be very doughy and sort of dry, so I came on this forum and found the chiffon chocolate cake recipe, which I think would have a great taste and texture, but would we be able to peel the paper cups off cleanly to get the cupcakes out? Has anyone ever done this? Just planning for next year, and still looking for a nice moist chocolate cake. BTW, the mayonnaise cake is awful. Thanks ladies.

Northerner.

Comments (6)

• ginger_st_thomas
    14 years ago

You probably should have used a 2-piece tube pan which is different from a bundt pan. After the cake is baked in the tube pan & inverted to cool, you run a thin knife or spatula around the edges & the cake comes out when you push the bottom up.

• ginger_st_thomas
    14 years ago

Here's a good chocolate cupcake recipe: