Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babyv7

Dewinterizing for home inspection (on foreclosure).

babyv7
14 years ago

I'm in CT and we're looking to purchase a foreclosed property. We're already under contract with the bank and now have to set up the inspections. The home is winterized. Has anyone been in this situation where you must have a home dewinterized for your inspection and then rewinterized? The home is 10 years old & looks like it's in good shape. The previous owner was also the builder & he clearly took care of the home. My main concerns are the septic, well & furnace inspections. It's been very cold here recently & I do have concerns about damage from the dewinterization/rewinterization of the systems.

Comments (7)

• mpinto
    14 years ago

I am a realtor in Mass. I just went through this with a client. You can have the utilities turned on for one day, but the bank will make you or the listing agent pay for it. Turn on the electricity first,then the furnace. The water can be done anytime. Resist the urge to skip the inspection. The property I was working on is only 20 years old and was full of problems. Good luck with everything!

• hadley
    14 years ago

If the home was truly winterized, it is not a simple matter of just turning things on. For a FHW system, a plumber must be hired.

DH is a plumber and has winterized/dewinterized etc. the same foreclosed property several times last year and already once this year. It costs some money to do and the seller pays for it through the REA.

• calliope
    14 years ago

I was thinking the same thing if it's hot water heat. If it's forced air it should be simpler. Having the property winterized should not be an issue for well other than it shall probably have to be re-primed. Septic........well depending on the tests, you may need water and that means the pump needs to work.