Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karieviola

Help! Lender Stalling?--First Time Homebuyer

karieviola
12 years ago

Hello,

I am a first time homebuyer trying to purchase a foreclosed home. I have been working with this lender for over three months and have had a contract on the house since 10/6. My set closing date is not until 12/6, however I am a music teacher and am supposed to have our orchestra Christmas concert that evening. So we have been trying to arrange to close earlier.

I have been approved for the mortgage loan. It is an FHA loan. My loan officer seems to have been screwing up all over the place lately...he was great until I got approved, so I don't know what the deal is! After sending him EVERY piece of paper I have on my finances, going through underwriting, then coming back and asking for more documentation, then going back for a clear to close...we are still waiting. we have been waiting for a clear to close for over a week now. Then today my realtor calls me to tell me the listing agent called her to ask her why my loan officer was calling them wanting documentation on all the repairs the bank has done to the house! What is the deal? My loan officer has not even told me that this was required. Usually with foreclosures, there aren't any seller disclosures. The house is actually in really good shape. All it really needs is a good coat or two of paint in the interior. The bank replaced the carpet in the entire house, put on a new roof, patched all the holes in the walls, installed new plumbing (toilets, sinks, etc.), put in new appliances (stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and water heater) and replaced the entire air conditioning system. The home inspector didn't have much to say after inspecting the house (with me there the whole time) for 4-5 hours. So what is the deal with the lender??