Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paiget_gw

Financing a remodel

PaigeT
11 years ago

This is my first time to post on this forum, please forgive me if I ask a question that has already been answered.

My husband and I have recently inherited our grandmother's home. It was built in 1955, and has not had many updates since. There is currently no mortgage or liens on the home. We would like to do a significant remodel on the home, adding square footage in the attic, and adding a garage. Cost of reno between 200K and 250K. The current value of the home is 340K. After reno, square footage would be about 3400. Homes in the neighborhood are selling for 150-170$ per sqft. Our question is, what is the best option for financing the large remodel. Is a new mortgage possible on an inherited home?

Our plan is to live in the home forever. As long as that may be.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Comments (3)

• mjlb
    11 years ago

You can certainly place a mortgage on your inherited home However you will need to meet underwriting criteria such as sufficient and reliable income to repay the mortgage.

• live_wire_oak
    11 years ago

Double check your estimates. They sound pretty low for what you are describing. In situations like yours with a smaller older home that you are trying to "recreate" to modern standards, such as adding a second story, creating an open concept or higher ceilings that involve a lot of structural changes, it is often dollars ahead to do a teardown instead. Remember that in such an involved remodel that you will have to bring many many things up to current building code standards such as wiring and insulation. Retrofitting that and joining new to old is where the big costs come in.