Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gailaz

22 Showings and No Offer

Gailaz
9 years ago

I listed this home in August, It is listed a little under market value. The home is vacant and has emerald green carpeting in every room except the bathrooms and kitchen, light green blinds throughout, 1970-1980 kitchen lights, drapes,(it took me two months to have them agree to take them down) 1970-80 refrigerator. For two months they had no built in microwave and old appliances (they just upgraded them) I have had over 22 showings, 1 written offer under market value, 1 offer almost $30,000 under market value and several I love the house but it needs too much work. Sellers offered a carpet allowance and still no offers. I am a Seasoned Realtor and have suggested replacing the green carpet with a neutral carpet and a few other suggestions. The house is spotless and in a desirable neighborhood. In the past 13 days I have showed the property every other day. I know that my marketing is working because Buyers are visiting the property but I can't make someone like their home once they get there and buy it. I suggested they change the carpeting and upgrade the house or lower the price below market value to make it so desirable the Buyer will want to buy it. They are resisting my suggestions and the owners daughter has made it clear that I should not bring up changing the carpet or any other changes again. I have been a Realtor, business owner/trainer and marketing expert for over 30 years. The pictures in the MLS are subtle and do show well and I have created lots of interest so I am having showings but when they see the home in person, the Buyers love the floor plan but move on to other homes that need less work and that they like better. I need help, should I just give up? Perhaps I am not right, who knows. Would you please take a look and give me an independent review would be very helpful. Can you look at the listing and give me your opinion please? I want to do right by the Sellers