Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lostvalleyfarm

How to sell a house yourself

alanis
14 years ago

My Aunt wants to sell her home and I'd like to just put a sign in her yard...For Sale By Owner with my ph number.

She doesn't care about the money...she paid 180 for it 3 yrs ago and only wants to sell at 190

I plan to have an open house and let people come and look at it.

No, I have no experience with this except buying my homes and learning hands on when we sold our first home.

Anyone think this is doable? Have any advice for me?

It's a very nice, completely remodelled 3 BR home right across the street from the Mississippi River.

She said I'd get the commission if I can sell it!!

She said her lawyer will handle the legal matters.

So looking for some encouragement here!!

Thanks!

alanis

Comments (16)

• Linda
    14 years ago

Good luck, but one question. If she is willing to pay the commission, why isnt she hiring a professional?

• alanis
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks! She is hard of hearing and doesn't like pushy people telling her what she should do!

If things get too complicated, then I'll turn it over to a realtor.
    But thought I'd see what kind of response we get from the for sale sign.

• sylviatexas1
    14 years ago

"Pushy people"?

Maybe you're confusing Realtors with used car salesmen;
    we have fiduciary responsibilities to our clients.

No Realtor would advise a homeowner to sell her home for whatever she paid for it plus a commission;
    we'd *have* to give her our expert opinion on how much the house is worth.

sure you're not just trying to get an elderly aunt to let you sell her house for a fire-sale price so you can get the "commission"?

Tread carefully;
    she may have other relatives.

• Billl
    14 years ago