Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mojomom_gw

Market Expectations

mojomom
12 years ago

I read an interesting article last week on CNN which quoted a survey of 'experts' regarding expectations in residential real estate market between now and 2015. I've attached the link. To see who are making the predictions, look at the embedded individual panelist expectations. Some I would trust, some, well, not so much.

I thought it might be interesting to hear GW's perpective and predictions on your particular markets. You don't have to be specific as to the identity of your particular market, but give enough information to show what type of market and region.

I'll start with the two markets with which I am familiar. I'm not a RE professional, so these are just my lay perspective based upon market watching and reading some statistics and local articles. I could be, and probably am, way off!

Market 1: This has been my hometown for the past 30 years. It is a small southern town, good schools, and nice hometown feel. Lots of families have lived here for generations, but it is also a "bedroom community" for a larger city about 40 miles commute. We really didn't have much of a bubble, just a fairly consisent, but modest year over year increase for the past 15-20 years, with maybe a blip every now and then. Compared to national statistics, housing prices and cost to build are low when compared to comparable homes in other areas. Because no there was no bubble, there was no bust. At most there was a slow down in building activity and stagnation in prices for a year or two, but no drastic drop. The market really appears to have picked up again and I'm surprised at the amount of new construction I've seen. My prediction, we're probably back to the pre "bust" trend to year over year percentage increase in values.