Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hilnaric

losing half a bath--mistake?

hilnaric
10 years ago

I'm waiting out a short sale for a 2/2-1/2 townhouse unit I bid on, somewhat similar to the one I've been renting for many years.

The one thing that bothers me about the new place is that the downstairs bath is a half bath, essentially a standard layout 8 x 5 small bathroom, but with the washer and dryer where the tub would be. I dislike this for two reasons: you have to scroodge in next to the toilet to access the washer, which I think is disgusting (although not unknown in FL condos/older townhouses), and I don't like not having a full bath downstairs in case of a situation where I couldn't get upstairs to shower. (I broke an ankle years ago, so I know you don't have to be old to be temporarily incapacitated.) My current place has one full bath downstairs and one upstairs, which I much prefer.

Now upstairs in the new place there's a largish hall bath between the doors of the two bedrooms, and the master bedroom has a tiny, tiny bath squeezed into it (basically they chopped off the end of the room and put in a skinny walk-in closet and a super tight bath with a 30 x 38 shower. This bath needs a gut reno (and I took that cost into consideration when I made my offer).

I've been thinking that if I had only myself to consider, what I would much prefer to do is to put a shower in the downstairs bath where the w/d are now, then eliminate the stupid squishy bath upstairs and just do a w/d closet and give the rest of the bathroom space to more closet space. This bath is directly over the downstairs one, so the dryer vent and plumbing stacks are conveniently located.