Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
1pennywise1

FSBO Realtors

1pennywise1
10 years ago

I'm just wondering who else has sold their home FSBO? I have it with a flat fee MLS realtor and offering a 2% buyers agent fee. I have had some weird calls since. I had one realtor who sent their clients alone. It was last Sunday, so I'm guessing he didn't want to be bothered for a mere 2%, (Which turns out to over 5000, for me to show THEIR client MY home.)
I find that when people have a realtor, they are more reserved and don't really look at the house. I do the tour, because it is the first time the realtor is in the house. (More than one realtor have asked me if I'm a realtor.) I really wish I didn't have to use them. I have actually done this for a house I bought, to save myself the realtor fees. I have my home on zillow and a FSBO sign, with flyers, in my yard. I post on craigslist almost every day. (Don't use FSBO.com, or any other FSBO website. All those are, are leads for agents to annoy you, to get you to list with them. There are actual websites that realtors can pay to use, that use a bot, to scour all those FSBO sites. It sends them daily emails.) Any other suggestions?

Comments (74)

• redcurls
    10 years ago

In my opinion....and I've never been an agent, but worked as a secretary in a RE office... "previewing" a listing only happens on those TV shows about buying and selling real estate.

I can DEFINITELY see where it would be almost twice the work. And most RE offices are probably not going to use a contract that you just printed off the internet.

• 1pennywise1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So what you are all saying...is that all those realtors that wanted to come, 'preview,' my home, were LYING? Shocker! That is just one of the excuses they used to try to get face, to face, with me to solicit for the listing. It all stopped once I got it on the MLS. Once again; Thanks for proving my point for me.