Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jane__ny

Realtor Question

jane__ny
14 years ago

If you sign a contract with a Real Estate Company to sell your home, can they bring potential buyers to see your house? Seems like a conflict of interest to me.

I'm new to this and finding the whole process confusing.

Thanks,

Jane

Comments (30)

• C Marlin
    14 years ago

It varies by state, I like it, if you get a low offer you can easier suggest your agent lower commission.
    If you do not want to accept dual agency tell your agent now, then your agent can have another agent show your house.

• sue36
    14 years ago

Yes, they can (at least here they can, not sure about all states).

• Linda
    14 years ago

Jane in NY your agent can bring a buyer to show your house. What other agent out there knows the details of your home the best? Right now they represent you as the seller. She has probably already explained to her buyer that she represents you as a seller and you have their undivided loyalty. Should the buyer decide to make an offer on the house,and want a buyers agent your agent is by law supposed to have a conversation with you and the buyer about dual agency and both buyer and seller have to give informed consent in writing. Some states don't allow dual agency, in NY it is legal. In a dual agency situation, the agent will not be able to provide the full range of fiduciary duties to the buyer and seller. Both the buyer and seller are giving up their right to undivided loyalty. If you are not comfortable with that, the agent can have another agent in his/her office negotiate the offer for the buyer. It really depends on how much you trust your agent. In the end, YOU are the one who decides the price you are willing to sell your home for so in my opinion its alot of worry for nothing. If you signed a contract with an agent, you should also have a NYS Agency Disclosure Form. All the definitions are on that form. (If you want a copy, let me know, I'll email it to you)