Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suz1023

eek, i'm going to make an offer tomorrow. wtd?

Susan
11 years ago

i haven't bought a home in 23 years and i'm nervous!

i don't have a lisitng agent yet, and need to gte mine listed asap.

the sellers of my potential new home are not in a hurry, as they are building and hope to move by fall.

this house is smaller than mine but lakefront, a location i've been lusting over for fifteen years or more.

so they are asking 389k.

most everything is new but the septic is 47 years old!

i'd like to pay 350, but don't feel comfortable offering less to compenstae for the septic. new one will be 30k there.

so offer 349 and be willing to go up? or?

i don't have an agent yet but the house is represented by the seller's sister, an agent a county away.

i am preapproved and have good credit.

what's next to make the offer tomorrow?

Comments (12)

• OttawaGardener
    11 years ago

Get a buyer's agent before you proceed. Probably not a good idea to do this on your own, and it won't cost you anything.

• _sophiewheeler
    11 years ago

Homes are taking a very long time to sell in most markets, and buying another home without selling yours first is very risky unless you are a cash sale.

• chispa
    11 years ago

I would check for any new or more stringent restrictions for waterfront development ... you might not be able to put in a new septic or will have to do a special one at an even higher cost. Have a contingency on the contract that the town has to approve a new septic design.

In Mass you can't sell without your septic passing a test (Tittle V) and if there is a problem the seller has to fix it or reduce the price to cover repair/replacement.

• Susan
    Original Author
    11 years ago

oh good pint, i will check tomorrow with the town and the state to confirm it's non buildable park land status.