Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hadley_gw

Flat rate broker

hadley
14 years ago

Has anyone used any of the flat brokers operating in the Northeast? What has been your experience?

Comments (10)

• dave_donhoff
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

What kind of broker are you referring to, bricks & sticks or money?

• Linda
    14 years ago

I probably should refrain from commenting on this because I am an agent who is NOT a flat rate broker. But in the interest of giving "advice" on this forum I can tell you, in my area, their listings never seem to sell, the homeowners wound up going with a more traditional real estate companies after their contract expired and there are no more left in my county. They have all gone out of business. When I have had the opportunity to list one of the homes that didnt sell with the flat rate company, the complaints were always the same. They didnt do anything, stuck me in the computer and thats the last I heard from them. Honestly, I think that is the purpose of a flat rate company. They get you in MLS, but you must do the rest. If you are willing to do that, you should be ok. I would just caution about being competitive with the commission rate you offer a buyers agent. If its not competitive with other listings, you probably won't receive many showings.

• sweet_tea
    14 years ago

I did not sell in the NE, but I sold and had used a flat rate broker. Actually, the broker basically placed the property in the MLS for around $500. I took and submitted the photos and wrote the MLS description and filled out a detailed template provided by broker. I determined listing price without broker assistance or comps. Broker forwarded all MLS generated emails/calls to me(seller).