Return to the Buying and Selling Homes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Flat Rate Commission on High End

Posted by worthy (My Page) on
Mon, May 31, 10 at 13:42

I just paid a $65k commission @4% on a relatively high-end home. I'm planning to sell a more expensive home and am looking at an even higher commission. I was a broker for 17 years and I know what's involved. I don't begrudge agents a commission. (Indeed, the listing agent cut her take to 1 1/2%.) But this is getting ridiculous! Has anyone had any luck in getting a flat rate commission on a higher-end home?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Flat Rate Commission on High End

It looks to me like you already got a discount listing broker at 1.5%.
How would you suggest the agent gets paid who brings the buyer? Will you offer a competitive commission according to what is customary in your area, or are you expecting the buyer to pay their agent?

o

The total commission was 4%, the customary rate for many agents on higher end homes; to encourage selling agents, the listing agent split it 2.5% for the selling agent, the balance for the listing agent.

A flat rate commission would be just that--say $60, $70, $80 K, whatever. I'm wondering if anyone has had experience with that sort of commission structure?

o

Assuming what you're talking about is standard for your region, why should someone cut their commission?

I mean, you can argue the abstract fairness of it back and forth, but if that's the standard, that's the standard. People aren't generally lining up to make less money for their services.

o

A few of the small builder/developers I've met in the past would keep it in the family by having a wife that was a realtor. The wife would list their properties.

The other 2 builders that I knew would always use the same realtor for their listings. I would assume they had a steady relationship with those realtors and had agreed on a lower commission in return for always getting their listings.

o