Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thehafamily

Inspection issues

TheHaFamily
9 years ago

Hi- This is my first time posting, though I've been lurking around for awhile. My husband and I are buying our first home in South Carolina's upstate, and our offer has been accepted on a house that is being sold through a relocation company. As far as we can tell, the ownership hasn't transferred to the relocation company yet, but as part of their involvement, they ordered a slew of inspections in February, and we now have the inspection reports. We do have our own inspection scheduled for Monday, but I'm trying to assess the sellers inspection report before then.

Our realtor has explained, and I've read here, that it is important not to nit-pick concerning seller repairs. My dh and I are not handy, however, and we don't really know what repairs really need to be addressed before closing. Here are the problems that the relocation company's inspection found. We would love to hear any of your thoughts about these items:

Roof- 15 year roof is 14 years old and has hail damage, cracked shingles throughout, flashing missing around chimney. "Roof has reached end of intended design life." This being the most glaring issue found, our realtor has already contacted the seller's realtor concerning it, and he has responded that they had an independent roof inspection performed, and the roof was found to have several years of life left in it. This seems unacceptable to me.

2 Loose toilets.

Coliform test positive (no other detail).

Septic: No inlet T, outlet T should be replaced, system flows in from side of tank (I have not idea why that is an issue).

Garage door opener failed to reverse when encountering an obstacle.

Electric: Missing cover plate for attic insulation box, garage outlet missing cover plate, exposed wire splice at well pump.

One of the upstairs bathroom's fan is venting into the attic.

Well's pressure tank is short cycling.