Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emily928_gw

Lots of interest and great feedback...but no offers!

emily928
10 years ago

This is my first time selling a house, and I keep hearing that there's a lot of activity in the 200-250k price range and more buyers than houses on the market. Our listing's been up almost 3 weeks, and I know that's not a long time in real estate terms, but we've had 20-25 showings and 20 sets of people come through our open house and have gotten good feedback on how our house shows. But no offers. I know the two main drawbacks of the house are that the garage is on the basement level, and our kitchen is small and outdated. But given that, I think we're priced pretty appropriately. If we were way out of line with the price, I'd think we wouldn't have as many showings. If someone really liked it but just wasn't willing to pay what we're asking, wouldn't they make us an offer to see if we'll bite? One other drawback is that the carpet in most of the house is worn, but I don't want to replace it necessarily because who knows what the new owners will like. I would think people would ask for a carpet allowance if that was holding them back. Maybe I don't understand the psychology completely. Anyway, any feedback from you RE veterans would be most welcome. Here is a link to the listing: http://glarmls.com/GLARReports/ListitLib/report_builder.aspx I should also add that our agent has been very involved following up with all the buyers' agents, and when we do get feedback it is always the garage/kitchen issues, which honestly is a big part of why we're moving so we know we can't do anything about that!

Comments (14)

• kirkhall
    10 years ago

I can't get your link to work.

But, if you've had that many showings, then your price isn't low enough yet to entice someone given the house's "faults". There are other houses of comparable price without issues of the kitchen/garage and so they are the winners when your buyers go to make an offer.

• emily928