Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rozie123

Attorney Ethics

rozie123
12 years ago

I am selling my home. We are having "issues" with this transaction that was scheduled to close at the end of March. The buyer of my buyer's house is represented by an attorney who is also representing her buyer. Is that even ethical? How does he fairly represent each party? Is this common? I am kind of going crazy as one of these parties is holding up 3 closings!!! If one party in the transaction is not playing fair how does he justify this to his other client?

Comments (6)

• etr2002
    12 years ago

I am an attorney and my ethical classes taught me a very basic principle - never attempt to represent more than one party because inevitably there will be conflicts and you will not be able to be neutral no matter how hard you try. At the very least, everyone involved in that transaction should have been asked to sign a waiver and consent before representation commenced. Unfortunately, you are not a party to that closing, so you don't have any input, but you should have included a clause in your contract that allows for revocation if there is an extensive delay in the closing. Also you may find that the atty isn't representing both parties but that is the perception of your buyer...very common misconception if someone is inexperienced in transactions and also naively trusting.

• Billl
    12 years ago

It is very common for 1 attorney to handle all the closing aspects, title etc

And frankly, 99% of the time, the only thing you would want an individual attorney to do is review the contract before you sign. Once that is done, the contract is going to trump everything else.

• slflaherty
    12 years ago