Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cas66ragtop

Schtoopid question about realtor commission

cas66ragtop
13 years ago

OK I have a dumb question. I know I probably won't get any real answers, but I have always wondered about this.

We all know the economy stinks. Home prices continue to drop, and many people who have their homes for sale are now forced to accept an offer lower than they may have paid for the house themselves. Its absolutely terrible.

This economy is also driving other costs down. I work in the land surveying business. There are not too many people building anymore, so we have very few clients. The few clients that are out there are shopping around amongst all the competition and driving our prices down. The work load has gotten so terrible that we are accepting low ball bids that earn us no profit whatsoever, just so the competition doesnt get it.

OK now for my real question................why is it that everyones prices are going lower and lower with no relief in sight.........but realtor commissions still remain at 6%? I just don't get it. Why aren't realtors willing to accept say a 4% commission? Why aren't they willing to take the hit just like the rest of are doing? I would think 4% of something is still better than 6% of nothing.

Thats the big reason there are so many FSBOs out there. People are losing their butts and they need to cut costs any way they can. I tried the FSBO route myself, and I know it doesn't really work. Not enough advertising, realtors will not show if they know they can't get commission, and most buyers have been brainwashed into thinking that they NEED a realtor. Maybe if realtors would drop their commission rates to be a little more realistic, there would be a lot less FSBOs for them to worry about.

Thank you for letting me vent a little. I would like to hear any opinions you may have. Thank you.

Comments (49)

• berniek
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago