Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deesweethome

The right realtor to sell - local or next town?

deesweethome
10 years ago

I am looking for the right realtor. A good friend of a good friend is a realtor but lives in the next town. I'm afraid that if I use her, her clients (buyers) would be interested in her area, not mine.

Is it true that most buyers first go to a realtor that is located in the same town in which they desire to buy?

What do you look for in a realtor?

This post was edited by deesweethome on Sun, Feb 9, 14 at 17:48

Comments (6)

• mpinto
    10 years ago

Hi, I am a Realtor in Massachusetts. I don't know where you got the idea the agent has to be in your town, but most of us work in several towns. Buyers usually have their own agents, and they show them houses wherever they want. Use the agent you feel comfortable with.

• jagchaser
    10 years ago

I don't ever use one anymore. If you are going to use one, then a friend another town away would be a good idea. It will get posted on the MLS so everyone will see it. Then they will put a lockbox on so all realtors can show it without your realtor being there.

I use craigslist and other local online sites. I don't think I have ever had one go longer than 1 week without getting a contract signed. It helps that I offer owner financing with most of mine. You have to deal with TONS of tire kickers and idiots if you do it that way though.

• c9pilot
    10 years ago

It depends on the area and the towns. Some towns are more like what we would call neighborhoods here. In some areas people shops several towns, or they want a specific neighborhood or feature.
    The way you describe it, people looking in your friend's friend's town would not be looking in yours. In that case, you really should use a local Realtor.
    There is also the chance that a local Realtor already has buyers looking for homes like yours in your area, whereas an out-of-town Realtor probably wouldn't.