Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peoniesandposies

Electric vs Gas stove

peoniesandposies
12 years ago

We need to replace our stove now, but will probably be selling our house within the year. Our hook-ups are for either electric or gas (we installed a gas stove when we moved in 12 years ago, but there was an electric stove there then). I'd be willing to live with an electric induction top if that is what would be the most appealing.

Which would be more appealing to the general mid-level homebuyer?

Comments (39)

• mpinto
    12 years ago

As a realtor, I think you should stick with the gas stove, but include in the listing that there is a hook up for each.

• Linda
    12 years ago

Definitely gas. People who cook almost always prefer gas.

• SaltiDawg
    12 years ago

"Definitely gas. People who cook almost always prefer gas."

I think that actually the top choice among serious cooks would be gas burners on top with electric oven to include convection cook.

• Linda
    12 years ago

I think that actually the top choice among serious cooks would be gas burners on top with electric oven to include convention cook.

Perhaps Saltidawg but this is a real estate forum and "generally speaking", most home buyers who do any kind of cooking prefer gas. Serious cooks typically dont expect to find their dream kitchen in a "mid level home".

• kats_meow
    12 years ago

Personally I find gas a negative. We are looking at houses now and while I would consider a house with gas I would prefer electric. I would actually prefer electric induction. In the past I bought a house and took out the gas cooktop to put in electric induction (that said, I once sold a house with electric cooktop and the buyer took it out and put in gas).

• lyfia
    12 years ago

Dual fuel as in gas cooktop and electric oven is the most popular.

Personally I'm with kats_meow. We have both hookups too, but went electric.

• brickeyee
    12 years ago

An induction top in a mid-range house is overkill.