Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bosaapje

Rag Quilt Confusion! Help!

bosaapje
15 years ago

So I've decided to make my first rag quilt and I have a couple questions.

First, I've read in several places that you don't have to use regular batting in the center, you can use a flannel. Then I read in a couple different places NOT to use flannel. Argh! Can someone help clarify this?

Second, I have a lot of regular quilter's cotton and wondered if I could use it for the top and a couple layers of flannel as center and back... if the flannel is okay :) I don't know how well regular cotton would fray up. I also have some denim I can play with and have seen pictures of some really nice ones made with denim.

Any advice would be appreciated. I'm not an expert quilter in the first place, only having made one or two, but the rag quilts look like fun and I just found out I have my first grandbaby on the way!

Comments (30)

• wendyfaye
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi bosa,

It really all depends on how heavy you want the quilt to be. I just finished one for a friend's baby and it is made with 3 layers of flannel. Quite heavy, but good for our northern winters for the car. I also made one for another friend's daughter this summer with front and back regular cotton and one layer of flannel in between. It was a nice weight. I've heard of using a smaller square of batting, but I've never seen one and it would seem too heavy to me.

I'll try and get a picture of my latest one up soon.

Don't worry about what you've read. If you like it, it is the right way to do it.

Don't forget to share a picture.

Good luck
    Faye

• nana24
    15 years ago

Cotten with flannel will work fine but I found that flannel will generally shrink. I would be sure to wash it before I cut my squares. I don't usually wash prior to sewing but this is one time I do. I had no trouble getting my cotten to rag or fray.

Sally

• grammyp
    15 years ago