Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fanelda

Stippling Problem

fanelda
13 years ago

My needle has been falling out and occasionally the foot falls off as well while I am stippling. Obviously I am a Newbie. Do I have this foot on correctly???? What am I doing wrong??? I just realized the thread is missing in this photo.

PS: The needle does NOT fall out for straight stitching, thank goodness.

Comments (13)

• toolgranny
    13 years ago

what kind of machine is this on?

• K8Orlando
    13 years ago

It looks very much like my machine and your set up looks correct, as far as I can tell from the picture. I've never had a problem with needles or feet falling off so I'm not sure what to tell you. But I'm guessing you are putting strain on them somehow to cause them to loosen and slip. When doing free motion, I run the machine as fast as I can and try to move the fabric slowly but consistently, with my hands firmly on the fabric on both sides of the needle. It does take some trial and error to move the fabric without having it pull the needle, but keeping that foot pedal pushed to the max helps.

Kate

• K8Orlando
    13 years ago

How about the feed dogs? Did you drop them down so they aren't trying to move your fabric forward while you're fighting to move it other directions?

Kate

• K8Orlando
    13 years ago

This is what mine looks like. Pretty similar, right?

Kate

• fanelda
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Feed dogs are down on my Janome Heart Truth 2008. Kate, I see the similarity, my foot is plastic, and I see you have metal. You do beautiful work! Someday mine will look like yours.

• lynndianne
    13 years ago

I have a Janome and a tip I picked up was to use the start/stop button instead of the foot peddle when machine quilting. I am just learning but find it easier using the button. I don't have to think about what speed to go.

Lynn

• toolgranny
    13 years ago

And I hope Kate cleans all that lint now that the world has seen it. LOL

• fanelda