Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
magothyrivergirl

Need help w/Flannel backing

magothyrivergirl
12 years ago

I will be making a quick comfort/chemo quilt (as soon as I finish 2 Christmas Quilts). I've read, it is preferred to omit the batting & use flannel instead for the backing.

I need purple-lavender - some of the backing says double brushed or not no pill. I understand pilling - hate it!

I have no experience with flannel used as a backing.

I have been looking online - the prices vary tremendously.

Any suggestions for what I should order. Purple family is limiting.

Am I correct to eliminate the batting?

Thanks for your help.

Comments (10)

• K8Orlando
    12 years ago

I would eliminate the batting unless it's a thin flannel. But have you considered polar fleece instead of flannel? Very soft and comfy. Easy to sew and the quilt pattern shows up nicely in the fleece, too.

Or Minky? Not so easy to sew but VERY comforting.

Kate

• nannykins
    12 years ago

I use flannel AND batting in my chemo quilts. Chemo is said to be cold so any extra layer to keep patients warm. Also, and I am sure you know this, but wash the flannel first. It can shrink a fair bit. Better safe than sorry!
    When my son lived in Detroit, I was able to get some nice flannels from Joann's. They do not ship to Canada so I have to keep an eye out for it wherever .
    Good luck!
    Theresa

• loisflan
    12 years ago

Marsha, the son of a friend of mine is going through chemo, and the cold is his biggest issue right now. I have no experience with chemo quilts, but I'd opt for batting with the flannel. Or, as an alternative, use polar fleece, as Kate suggested. Maybe you could omit the batting if you used fleece. I'm from Minnesota though; nothing is too warm up here.

• ritaweeda
    12 years ago