Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
casi_gw

what brand sewing machine?

casi
13 years ago

Hi! I haven't been here for awhile. I'm a 3yr newbie...been working on my first quilt for 3 yrs! I told my husband last week that I was going to get it done THIS YEAR! Within 5 min. of saying that, my bobbin ran out of thread and when I went to re-wind....my 20+yr old Singer sewing machine broke! So, I still will not get my quilt finished. I took my machine into a repair shop that specailizes in all makes but the lady said if it was a gear issue, that they can't get any gears....so I will be shopping. What do you quilters recommend? I don't intend to do the "quilting" per se....just want to make quilt tops and small item crafts.

Comments (11)

• imrainey
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have a Bernina and a Viking. I had Singers, including one I had for 30+ years before them. There was nothing wrong with the Singer I bought in the mid-60s. I just was sick and tired of looking at it and tired of having to drop in cams for everything but a straight stitch. But I understand they're no longer made the way they were back then so the durability of mine might not be what you'd find today.

It had (don't know if Singers still do) the most convenient bobbin arrangement I've ever used. You could wind a bobbin in the housing which is to say you could have a new bobbin wound and be sewing again within 90 seconds. And you could screw apart the bobbins to empty one fast. It was fantastic and I don't know why both of those features didn't become industry standards.