Return to the Quilting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mini rag doll, quilt and bed

Posted by new2quilting (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 27, 12 at 22:47

I got this pattern by The Ragtime Doll Company years ago in NYC. I actually got all four of the doll patterns and their quilts (the others are Rail Fence, 9 patch and Honey Bee for a boy). It comes with the pattern for the mattress and pillow as well. At the time they sold the pattern and the wooden box for bed for $8! But the boxes were pretty flimsy and needed sanding/painting and now they sell it with a cardboard bed instead. The bed is 4" x 6" x 2.5" and the doll is about 5" and her quilt 5.5". It's my first time making dresses of any size, so it took a while to figure it all out. But the little girls getting these won't care.

Here is a link that might be useful: Ragtime Doll etsy shop

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mini rag doll, quilt and bed

How cute! Who are you making them for?

Donna

o

Very cute, I can picture a little girl sitting and playing with her for hours.

o

Very sweet. It will be a treasured gift.

o

Adorable. I'll bet there are some "big" girls out there who'd love even love them.

o

Donna, I'm making them for a few friend's daughters who are in the 3-5 age range.

Quilthen, agreed. I might be making one to be a mascot for my quilting room!

o

9 Patch Twins!

Here are two more dolls and quilts for twin sisters. The 9 patches really got a bit wonky, I think no steam would have been better or even fingerpressing with something so tiny and probably pressing seams open would be good. I don't work in miniature that often. The 9 patches are 2" unfinished. I didn't have time to sew on the bindings like on the other one, so I just pillowcase method turned these. But I don't think the girls getting them for their 3rd birthdays will mind!