Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susan_on

Recommended applique method..?

susan_on
10 years ago

I'm doing an appliqu� quilt for my nephew and his wife, and I've only done this once before. What is the best applique method/technique for a quilt that will be used a lot? She wants owls in trees.

Comments (9)

• K8Orlando
    10 years ago

Owls in trees?!? Is she a Molly the Owl person? LOL - there were a lot of us!

Hand applique is not the fastest, but for a quilt that will be used a lot I like that method the best. The sewn edges will be soft and strong. I'm not crazy about machine applique because I think the edges can be stiff or rough but maybe that's because I'm not very good at it!

There are probably as many opinions about this as there are quilters! Whatever you choose, it will be a lovely gift for your nephew.

Kate

• toolgranny
    10 years ago

Hand applique, needle turn, by all means.

• jennifer_in_va
    10 years ago

I would agree that needle turn/hand applique would be the best, but only if you're rather proficient at it! If this will be your first walk in the park for hand applique, and you're not sure of your skills, then I'd recommend machine applique.

How did you applique the first project?

• susan_on
    Original Author
    10 years ago

For the first project I did needle turn applique. It was a few years ago, but there was a LOT of applique on it. I didn't mind doing it though.

Molly the owl? I should look that up- never heard of it....lol! She sent me a pic that seemed kind of chaotic, so I'm going to tone it down. Wish me luck!

• nanajayne
    10 years ago

I am with Jennifer, unless you have lots of time and experience I think hand applique isn't the best way to go. For a quilt that will be used a lot I would machine applique. Eleanor Burn's technique using a lite wt. interfacing works well and is easy and accurate.
    I agree the hand applique is beautiful but requires a skill level and time. MHO

• vicky4x4
    10 years ago