Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maritime_linda

Looking for assistance

maritime_linda
11 years ago

Hello ladies, I have a bit of embellishing to do on a Christmas Wall hanging and will be using metallic thread. I've never used this before. Any pointers or cautions that anyone would like to share would be appreciated. This would be final stage.... through top, batting and backing so would be considered quilting. I do have a needle for metallic thread.

Thanks

Comments (3)

• mary_c_gw
    11 years ago

Test on a sample sandwich first!!

You may need to reduce the top tension a bit. Stitch SLOWLY! If your machine has a "half-speed" or "turtle" mode, engage it.

Stop every few inches and let everything cool off for a few seconds. The metallic threads do heat up the needle with friction. I found when using metallics on upholstery-weight cotton velvet (comparable to a sandwiched quilt) it really helped to pause the machine for for 20 seconds or so. These were dense satin-stitched embroideries.

If you have Sewer's Aid (a liquid silicone lubricant - safe for sewing machines), a few lines down the spool work well.
    Another thing I've found is the humidity level affects the performance of the thread. Dry, dry air is not helpful. The Sewer's Aid will help with that. So will a humidifier.

So, above all, patience when using metallics.

Good luck!

• nanajayne
    11 years ago

Mary gave good advice for metalic thread.
    My word is if you haven't purchased the thread yet look to find YLI gold thread. I used to get it from Clotilde cat. but it must be availabe elsewhere.
    It superior to any metalic I have ever used and when I was selling I used it frequently. It isn't as stiff and sews very much like ordinary thread.MHO

• maritime_linda
    Original Author
    11 years ago