Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vacuumfreak

Rail Fence quilt top done...

vacuumfreak
11 years ago

I'm on a two week vacation from work, and I've spent most of it at home, though I am leaving on Tuesday for a couple nights in St. Pete on the beach. I figured this would be a good time to quilt and I've been working in this until 5 AM every day for the last 4 days. I got the pattern out of a wonderful book called "Quilting: The Basics and Beyond", by Jeri Simon.

It's been fun, though exhausting. Of course I'm still learning, so my points didn't all match up, but I think rail fence design is a little more forgiving than other kinds of patterns.

Here's a picture of the finished top... The floor was the only place I had big enough to spread it out! I've spray basted it, and I LOVE spray basting! The kind I got from Joannes didn't have a smell and said it wouldn't gum up the needle, so that is a good thing :o)

Here's a close up of the fabric.... I really liked the glitter in the red... I've never used glittered fabric before. Are there any special tips for washing it? I didn't pre-wash! :o(

I had to bring my machine out of the bedroom and move it to a folding table in the living room... more room and light for a big quilt. The machine vibrated too much, and I know that can throw them out of timing and it was really distracting, so I put a dish drying mat under it and put 2 of the legs of the table on the shag rug.... that helped tremendously. As did moving the speed control to the half way setting so I couldn't floor the machine. I also bought some cheap gardening cloves with rubber dots to help me move the quilt when I go to quilt it. I've tried them on a practice sample and decided that I feel I have more control without them. I may change my mind when I get that big quilt under there...

My hole.... I've been in this space watching Andy Griffith and Hot in Cleveland while working on this quilt for most of my vacation.