Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karpet_gw

Sept. 16 QOTD

karpet
12 years ago

How many quilts do you have in your head? Ones that you've either mentally or physically set aside fabric for, know the pattern you want to make, or who it would be for?

I guess a second part of the question, assuming there are several quilts in your head waiting to be made, what is your time frame for making these? How long does it take to make a quilt - or how many do you make in a year?

Just wondering if there is any hope of getting all the ideas in my mind turned into finished products and I scare myself with how many more ideas I keep coming up with! I even limit myself to simpler patterns so that I can do more!

How about you?

Karlene

Comments (11)

• teresa_nc7
    12 years ago

"I even limit myself to simpler patterns so that I can do more!"

Funny you should say that! Although I have been quilting for about 25 years, I find myself making fairly simple quilts just so I can get them done. My time is limited because I am still working full time. I have several quilts that will be for "some day when I retire."

For myself, I have 3-4 bed quilts that I want to make in the future. And I want to make lap quilts for both my sons (they each have a bed quilt I have made them). Then, we continue to do a round robin group project every two years. And I want to continue to make quilts on commission to help pay for my hobby. And the list goes on.....

Teresa

• jennifer_in_va
    12 years ago

It would take me some time to count all the projects in the works or that have fabric pulled. Then there are many others I keep seeing and saying "Gee, I'd like to make that".

I tend to work in spurts... I'll make a bunch, then I'll go for awhile without accomplishing anything. That's how my life works out. When I get right down to it, it's not hard to complete a quilt top in a few weeks. A bit longer to get it quilted depending on what I want to do (just finishing 2-5yo UFOs)