Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
k8orlando2

QOTD - 9/17 - silk?

K8Orlando
12 years ago

I've had a recent inspiration to do a wall hanging using silk dupoini, or at least some of it will be silk for the sparkle and iridescence. I've never worked with it before but I've seen some beautiful quilts pieced with silk.

Have you ever used silk, or anything other than cotton, as a primary fabric in your quilts? Did you like the results?

Kate

Comments (7)

• K8Orlando
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I would love to do at least one post without a typo or incorrectly spelled word... "dupioni" not dupoini.

Here's a link to the fabrics I've been drooling over. I won't order them from this source because I think they do 1 yard minimums but the colors are wonderful!

Here is a link that might be useful: Silk Dupioni Fabric

• mary_c_gw
    12 years ago

Warning: Very long post, LOL.

I have made (finished) many needlepoint pillows from silk dupioni. I love it.

It ravels like the devil. It's difficult to square off. It shrinks. It's a PITA. If you turn your back, the stuff will ravel again! It might actually disappear if you leave it alone for a while.

I still love it.

All that said, I would use it in large pieces for a wholecloth quilt, or at least in as large pieces as possible. I wouldn't make narrow strips or small triangles from it. And don't cut too many pieces ahead.

I would absolutely prewash it - but I would take a specific measured piece, wash it gentle, cold, line dry, press with a warm iron, and re-measure the piece. Use a color catcher to see if it bleeds.

OK, that's what I should and do advise. For myself, I'd buy a measured 1/2 yard, wash it hot, rinse it cold, dry in the dryer on medium. I would probably serge (or at least pink or staystitch or narrow hem) the raw edges before washing to prevent a raveled disaster.