Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buteau3rd

half square triangles

buteau3rd
12 years ago

Has anyone ever tried using the paper printouts from "Quilting and Whatnot"?

They were so, so easy and absolutely perfect.

When I looked at the lines, .I really didn't think it was correct, because there were no corner to corner cutting lines. They looked a bit askew to me.

They are the best, easiest ones I have ever made

Comments (15)

• K8Orlando
    12 years ago

Isn't that the same thing that Vicky was using for her tree quilt? I would have to go back in the posts and find it but if it wasn't this one, it was close. I couldn't believe how quick and easy it was to make a bunch of perfect HST!

Kate

Here is a link that might be useful: half square triangle pattern

• K8Orlando
    12 years ago

I was wrong. Vicky's was similar but not exactly the same.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• casi
    12 years ago

As a newbie, I'm wondering how one uses these patterns? Do you just do a few at a time?

• buteau3rd
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Kate, the first one is the one I was talking about. If you compare them, the second one is the one I have always used, and you do cut corner to corner. The one from quilts and whatnot has no corner to corner cuts but they are perfect!
    Now I am really curious as to
    vickies pattern!

• buteau3rd
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Casi, half square squares are used very often in quilts. It depends on your pattern, some are almost all HSTs..........very versatile.....you can do so much with them.
    Hope you enjoy quilting with us.

• casi
    12 years ago

I love this forum, everyone is very helpful. I have been having trouble with my HST's...trying to figure out how ones uses the patterns. Print off mulitple copies and then place on fabric??

• rosajoe_gw
    12 years ago

I get really annoyed trying to get the paper pieces off so I just make mine 7/8 larger than the finished HST and trim to size.