Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

If you could buy a new sewing machine for quilting right now

TxMarti
12 years ago

Which would it be? I am in the market for a machine between $1500 and $3000 and looked at some this morning. There is a Janome with a long neck(or whatever it's called) but it didn't have a good stretch stitch for sewing knits. I don't sew with knits now just because I don't have a good stretch stitch that doesn't leave the puckers along the fabric. But I would really like to make some casual knit shirts and would like a machine that can both handle larger quilts and sew clothing.

Comments (14)

• loisflan
    12 years ago

I'm new to quilting, but I just bought a new Janome Memory Craft 6600 which I love. It was highly rated by Consumer Reports, and the sales person from whom I purchased the machine (an experienced quilter) has and loves the machine herself. It retailed for about $1,500. Best of all, you can purchase a table that fits it perfectly that measures 17"x48", if I remember correctly. It has many different stitches that are supposed to be good for knits or stretchy fabrics. It has many features which are really new to me - needle threading, visible bobbin (so you can see when you are getting close to the end), needle up or down when you stop, thread cutter, locking stitches, knee lift for the presser foot, etc. I have been having an absolute blast with it.

The only negative that I know of is that it is not a free-arm machine, but I seldom need that feature. Good luck finding just the right machine for yourself.

• loisflan
    12 years ago

It also has a 9" harp.

• TxMarti
    Original Author
    12 years ago

The Janome I looked at is the Horizon 7700 QCP with an 11" table.

Another store had a Pfaff Quilt Expression 4.0 with a 10" table.