Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josie1960

Squaring up a quilt. top

josie1960
12 years ago

I am a complete newbie when it comes to squaring up a quilt. Does anyone have suggestions about how to do it.

Thanks

Josie

Comments (7)

• rosajoe_gw
    12 years ago

Josie I prefer to square up the blocks as I go then the final quilt is OK.
    I get really annoyed when a pattern doesn't say that the 4 patch should be 6x6 or what ever.
    My method is to starch, press, and square up as I go.
    Rosa

• grammyp
    12 years ago

I do like Rosa, but have found when I quilt, things can get a bit out of square. I "cheat" by making the outer border about 1/2 inch wider than I want it to end up being. After the quilting is done I can use my 6 x 24 inch ruler, trim and square it up before putting on the binding.

beverly

• geezerfolks_SharonG_FL
    12 years ago

After years of trial and error.....I square up units of a block and then make sure the block is the correct size as they're made. Then make sure each border is the same size.

Rosa, I agree. If a block has a lot of pieces that make up a unit and there isn't a size of the unit stated, I get really disgusted. If I can't easily figure it out, I pass it by. I figure it's an incomplete pattern. @:)

SharonG/FL

• K8Orlando
    12 years ago

Put me in with those who have already commented. If your blocks are all square and your seams are a consistant 1/4", then your quilt will be square.

However, if its put together and it isn't square there are a couple things you can do. Measure across the middle side-to-side to determine the size of top and bottom borders; measure down the center top-to-bottom to determine side borders. Pin well at center and ends, then 'make it fit'. This will work even if your sides are off by a couple inches. Quilting will smooth out pouchy sections.

Hope that helps!
    Kate

• josie1960
    Original Author
    12 years ago