Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new_beginning_cms

need your advice/suggestions

new-beginning
10 years ago

I am not a quilter like you folks although I do from time to time make a quilt for the little ones in the family - not anything pieced like ya'll do though. I did have an issue with the power cord connection to the machine which would have cost $350.00 to replace the powerunit; my electrical engineer friend 'fixed it' so it runs again, at least for the moment.

Anyhow, I am in the market for a new machine (currently have a Viking Scandinavia so all the feet I already have would work on another Viking). My machine is 8 yrs old, out of warranty and although not obsolete but is out of production by Viking, new machines have so many more bells and whistles.

I have an extra $800.00 I could spend on a machine (I have been sewing for 60+ years); my grand-daughter is wanting me to make her wedding dress (no date set as of yet). I have a 3+ yr old great-grand-daughter living next door to me and school clothes are on the horizon.

If any of you would like to make suggestions I would appreciate it - I have looked at the Viking Opal and several Pfaff models; also wonder about the Juki.

thanks, Carolyn

Comments (5)

• teresa_nc7
    10 years ago

The Pfaff and Viking are two good makes to consider - I'm not that familiar with Juki, but I'm partial to Viking since I've had two. Do you have the even feed foot made by Viking, also called the walking foot? Those are probably in the $100 range now, so if you have one, it should fit a new Viking, thus saving you that purchase. Quilting is so much easier with a walking foot. And if you want to learn to piece, a 1/4-inch piecing foot is such a help, and not as pricey as the walking foot.

Both Opal model 670 and 650 were rated a Consumer Digest Best Buy. You might want to study the differences between the two before you make your decision. The 670 doesn't mention the ability to stop/start without foot control, but the 650 does: