Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wendywillow_gw

Newbie question: Can you identify this quilt block?

WendyWillow
11 years ago

Hello: I have been lurking for a while but this is my first time posting. I am trying to identify a quilt block. I have tried some of those sites that show pictures and lists of names of blocks, but no luck. I know that a lot of blocks have multiple names depending on the area of the country you are in.

Take a look and let me know if you have an idea ! It's a really simple block that is a square with borders and fourpatches in the corners.

Now I'll try to upload a photo !

Thanks for any assistance,

Wendy

Comments (18)

• lola99
    11 years ago

Welcome Wendy! I looked through the pictures in quilterscache.com and the closest pattern that I found is the Antique Tile. Not exactly the same, but pretty close...

Maybe someone else will recognize the pattern.

Good luck.

Lola

Here is a link that might be useful: Antique Tile

• WendyWillow
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you Lola ! Well, I just found another quilt image (see below) using the same block but the block wasn't identified here, either. Still searching for the name of this block.

• mary_c_gw
    11 years ago

OK, I'm curious - why do you need the name?

It's a simple to graph out block, and it looks fairly modern. It may not have an old history, and therefore, no name to discover.

• bee0hio
    11 years ago

Billie Lauder has a technique for making this block (it actually makes 2 blocks at a time) and she calls the quilt.... "Battlefield". I don't know whether, or not, that is also the name of the block. The actual design of the block probably isn't hers, but likely is an old one?

Here's a link to Billie's book on making a Battlefield quilt.... scroll down the page a bit.

Here is a link that might be useful: Battlefield Quilt by Billie Lauder

• WendyWillow
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Mary -- I can understand why you might ask why I need the name!