Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ritaweeda

Other than cotton fabric...

ritaweeda
11 years ago

I posted on the sewing forum and am copying here, too. I'm thinking of branching out into other fabrics other than cotton, particularly Sari fabrics. I know nothing about working with this type of fabric. Can anyone give me some pointers on what type of thread, needle, tension, and special handling of these types of fabrics? I just want to branch out and play around with it but don't want to ruin it with lack of knowledge.

Comments (12)

• nanajayne
    11 years ago

I am not an expert but in my opinion one would have to know the fiber content and weave before understanding the answer to your questions. Do you have that info.?

• ritaweeda
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I apologize, I should have researched the fiber content. I've included a link to what I'm talking about. I happen to have a couple of these, they were in the remnant bin at Joann's a long time ago and I picked them up. They carry them all the time I've noticed. According to the ad they are 100 percent polyester, they are very slick and silky, not anything that I'm used to working with. The very expensive types of sari fabrics can be silks, brocades, etc. also but I've never run across those.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sari Fabric

• toolgranny
    11 years ago

I think there's a bit of experimentation involved. First, do you want to be able to wash the quilt or is it a wall hanging never to touch water? Test the fabric in water if it's to be washed. I think most threads would work. I'd use cotton for natural materials and poly for others. Any batting should work with either. But, tension and handling requires a test. Make a small sandwich of fabric and batting and try out a few things. It's easy to spot tension problems and find the proper settings.

You are the best judge of all of these. Go for it. We'd love to see your results.

• magothyrivergirl
    11 years ago