Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pirate_girl

from a recent class using The Big Print

pirate_girl
11 years ago

Hi Folks,

How is everybody? Been busy & summering & somewhat beachy (I live near the beach). Here's some pix of the top I made at & after a recent class. The class idea was to present us w/ a possible way to use these wonderful Asian prints w/ the large motifs.

Here's the top:

Look what an exquisite floral this is:

another area

Pls. remember that I'm a recovering textile designer, so I can get really carried away w/ the beautiful fabrics.

Tho' I intended to make a matching back using some of the featured floral from the front, I ended up making a coordinate back instead, as the other just did not work well. I rather like how different a feeling this seems to evoke in me (so far).

I learned to weave as a child, I could see a weaver's sensibility in this type of striping.

I just layed out the fabric sandwich on the floor & tried to center the back, batting & front & am about to baste it together w/ long running stitches.

Now I've got to figure out how to quilt it.

I hadn't taken a class in a couple of yrs ($$), it's really a GREAT stretch to do so. I encourage anyone who never has, to take the leap if they get the chance! Great fun had throughout!

Comments (15)

• msmeow
    11 years ago

That's really nice! I like the coordinating back, too. Someone was just asking about using large prints...this is a great design.

Donna

• quiltnhen
    11 years ago

Beautiful! The quilting you do on the front will make the back really amazing. If you do free motion, maybe following some of the flowers and leaves?

• day2day
    11 years ago

Beautiful!
    I like Asian prints. They have a wonderful elegance and richness.
    Great idea for the back.
    Please post another pic once it is finished.
    I'd be interested in seeing how you quilted it.
    TFS.

~Geraldine

• magothyrivergirl
    11 years ago