Return to the Quilting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
And another top finished!

Posted by msmeow (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 19, 14 at 15:58

I got these blocks last year in a birthday block swap. I only received 10 so had to make 2 more. The block is Woven RIbbons from Quilter's Cache. I started playing in EQ with one of their border ideas, one thing led to another, and this is the layout I finally decided on.

woven ribbons top 07-19-14 photo wovenribbonstopcomplete07-19-14_zps9e4396f0.jpg

This is a closeup of the border fabric. I think it came from a friend of mine who was reducing her stash before she moved. I'm keeping this one for me so I thought the sewing fabric was appropriate! LOL

woven ribbons border photo wovenribbonsborder_zps6c231894.jpg

I now have 4 tops done. I think it's time to stop piecing and start quilting! :)

Donna

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: And another top finished!

Donna, I like this layout and I'm partial to brights as well...nicely done!

I know what you mean about time to get quilting. I spray basted 4 tops this morning (1st time I'm trying the spray baste), wow it was quick! Now to start the quilting.

Do you do your quilting or send your tops to a long armer?

V.

o

Congrats on finishing another quilt top. I love your quilt top,... it looks like ribbons. And I like the border fabric and how you did the corners on the border.

Best to you and yours,
Sandra

o

Bravo! I love the way you set them so that they truly look like ribbons. Also love the brights and you sure found a great border.
LindaB/CA

o

Very nice. You did a good job choosing your layout and choice of border fabric. It was just what it needed. Congratulations...now on to the rest of the story..lol

o

I have always liked that block pattern and your borders just add to the overall look! Love it!

Val, Donna has a quilt frame & machine like mine, I think. A standard machine on a frame (Juki on a Pennywinkle frame)