Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
molanic

Shibori indigo dyed quilt advice

molanic
9 years ago

I normally hang out on the gardening forums, but a new project has sent me here for ideas. I would say I am a novice quilter with some sewing experience. I did some patchwork and quilting many years ago but only made a few small things. Now after failing to find a replacement quilt to buy for my bed and a new-found interest in tie-dye, I have gotten the idea to make own shibori indigo dyed quilt.

It is going to be more about having fun making it than having a high quality art piece, so I am hoping to keep the cost way down but still have it look decent. I also have three cats and a dog that frequent the bed so it has to be very washable and reversible. I am hoping to keep the actual quilting stitches to a minimum because my existing quilt is full of snapped or pulled stitches from animal nails snagging them. I'm thinking just enough quilting to keep the layers together and not shifting. I did a small quilt before with yarn tie pompoms but I think that is out of the question with my kitties now!

This blog with small dyed samples is where I got the idea.
http://honestlywtf.com/diy/shibori-diy/. I think it would look pretty cool to have these pattern blocks framed with some solid or mottled indigo dyed borders, then a backing fabric of one large dyed pattern. I have no idea design wise what would look good as far a scale for a full/queen quilt though.