Return to the Quilting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bernina 150

Posted by spinart (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 16, 11 at 10:08

Trying to finish a quilt and am having problems with machine quilting it. Started out fine. Using my walking foot. I am getting uneven stitches. Seems like every once in a while, the bobbin thread is not catching the top thread. I have rethreaded both the top thread and bobbin, changed the thread, cleaned the machine, changed the needle and nothing has resolved the problem. I can take the machine into the quilt shop, but of course, I am trying to finish the quilt in the next two weeks and am afraid I will lose too much time!

I'm not experienced enough to diagnose the issue. Any help on what is causing the problem and if it is an easy fix I can do at home. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bernina 150

can't seem to find your address on the page, so will answer here:
I'm also having tension problems on my old Viking Rose. It did help to change to a Topstitch needle and set tension to 7 for freemotion quilting...then someone suggested to use monofilament thread...which I have avoided. They said mono has changed now and is soft and pliable. Old habits die hard, so am dragging my feet on trying this. Best of luck to you...let us know of your results.....Sunny

o
RE: Bernina 150

Thanks, Sunny. ended up taking the machine to my quilt shop. Probably needs a full service and timing adjustment. It's been longer than I remember having a tune up so I did leave it. However, I asked if they had a "loaner" that I could use while mine was in the shop. They graciously are letting me use a classroom machine and have been quilting since!