Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vicky4x4

QOTD July 21st

vicky4x4
12 years ago

How did you learn you learn to quilt?

I started out by taking a Log Cabin class using the QIAD book. (I never even sewed before that class!) But after that I've been mainly a self taught quilter.

Vicky

Comments (17)

• murphy_zone7
    12 years ago

After retiring, decided to try sewing again after a 25 year absence, to see if I still liked it. I did! Then looked for a way to connect with like minded people, visited the local quilt shop, took a class (rail fence) and was hooked. Joined a quilt guild, bought a Janome 6600, and now just don't have enough time in the day to do all I want to do. Satisfied all my needs...creative outlet, new friends, places to go, people to see, ....new ways to spend my money! lol. What more could a person ask for???
    Murphy

• geezerfolks_SharonG_FL
    12 years ago

Pretty much self taught. I took a sampler class back in the mid 80's and have watched a lot of quilting shows on TV. Since the internet, have really honed my skills by using tips and techniques from other quilters. The education/experience continues. @:)

SharonG/FL

• msmeow
    12 years ago

My mom taught me to sew clothes when I was pretty young and she quilts, too. I think I kind of tried quilting on my own, but I was still teenage & living at home.

I guess I'm mostly self-taught, though I do like to take classes to learn new techniques and often just for the exposure to the professional person teaching the class.

Donna

• lindaoh_gw
    12 years ago

My mother taught me to sew when I was young. I didn't get interested in quilting until 1999. I bought a couple BOM kits at Joann's to make pillows and I was hooked! I ended up searching for all the discontinued BOMs and made the entire quilt.