Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennifer_in_va

I need help.

jennifer_in_va
11 years ago

I'm ready to quilt Melanie's baby quilt. The backing is pieced and pressed, the top pressed and the batting cut and 'relaxing'. ;)

And now I'm a bit stumped. Here it is...

I thinking I want to do 1-2 echoes around the hearts (blue background), and was considering stippling lightly around the pinwheels (light background). But I'm rather stumped on what to do in the hourglass blocks.

I don't think stippling would look right. One possibility I have is to do a heart pattern, maybe with an echo (to simulate the heart blocks), but other than that I'm not sure.

I'm open to some suggestions. I am not good at 'freehand' straight lines, so a 1/4" from the seams wouldn't be very feasible.

Comments (12)

• nanajayne
    11 years ago

If it were mine I would SITD with the blue checks (hour Glass. I like your idea for the heart and pinwheels. I think too much quilting in the blue would detract from the others. MHO

• magothyrivergirl
    11 years ago

I wish your pictures were larger, so I could see the detail better, and enjoy your work.
    I love using loopy double hearts. It is very easy to get into a rhythm, the loops allow you to easily change directions, and it is very freeing. That said, I would load it sideways, quilt small loopy single hearts around the pinwheels and heart, and quilt loopy larger double hearts in the hourglass blocks. I would also tape down the pinwheels to prevent my foot from catching them.

I'll look for a picture of the loopy hearts - it is just a small meander with loops - not puzzle pieces. very free flowing.

• grammyp
    11 years ago