Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cziga

Making a hot pad

cziga
16 years ago

As I'm still new to this, I don't have any tips to offer . . . I do however have loads of questions which might help both me and others learn more . . . and I can certainly contribute those :)

I have been wondering lately about making a heat pad or a hot pad for kitchen use - you know, those pads that you lay down on the counter to protect it from hot pots or pans. Is there a special material to make them out of? I imagine that a quilted top, a layer or two of batting, and a backing would be enough layers of fabric to protect the counter, but what about the quilted top? Wouldn't regular cotton scorch under the heat of a really hot pot? Do you use a special fabric for the top? Or for the batting? Heat resistant?

Comments (9)

• vicky4x4
    16 years ago

Yep, they make special stuff for hot pads. It is heat resistant and they do sell it Joann's. But here is a link so you can read about it.

Here is a link that might be useful: hot pad batting

• maryliz
    16 years ago

There is a heat resistant batting called Insul-Brighthref> made by the Warm Company, makers of many types of quilt batting. It is available at Joann's in the interfacing display.

• biwako_of_abi
    16 years ago

I don't know about the best sort of filling for a hot pad, but here is a link to one that is made in an interesting way. I haven't tried it out yet.

Here is a link that might be useful: Folded Star Hot Pad directions

• grammyp
    16 years ago

I have one I keep on my counter and it is just cotton fabric with cotton batting and back. I don't use it to pick up hot things and it works just fine. Don't know if I would use it to protect wood surfaces, but on my counter I have no problems. If you want to use it to pick up hot pots or oven trays, you will want to use the Insul-Bright and heat resistant backing.

beverly

• laurainsdca
    16 years ago