Return to the Quilting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Batting question

Posted by lowraine (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 9, 12 at 11:04

I am new to quilting and am trying to sandwich my quilt together using poly-fil 80% natural cotton and 20% polyester. The batting came out of the package with creases that are keeping my quilt from laying flat. What should I do to correct this, maybe I should have gotten another type of batting.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Batting question

You can try ironing it using a cloth or towel between the batting and the iron, if necessary. I've used Hobb's 80/20, and it works quite well. I think you should be able to work the wrinkles out. Good luck.

o

Or throw it in a dryer with a wet towel.

o

I now have to remove all the pins that are holding the sandwich together but that is part of learning. I think I will first try throwing it into the dryer with a wet towel and follow that with an iron. thanks

o

I second the suggestion to toss it in the dryer.

Another option in the future is to open up the packaged batting days in advance, unfold, and drape it somewhere to relax prior to using it.

I only use th 80/20 batting and love it.

o

I used to open the batting and drape it over the bed for a day or more, but now I unfold it and put it in the dryer on a barely warm fluff for just a few (less than ten) minutes.

Teresa

o

Lowraine, you asked the question, and I learned from all the answers. The dryer sounds like an easy fix.

o

Glad I could be of help, mine goes in the dryer today.

o

I've never tried the dryer method before but now I will.
Good question and good answers!!!

Kate

o

I've also found that after I have the quilt sandwich pinned, that if I let it sit for a couple days, the layers seem to relax together and quilting is easier.
Karlene

o

Glad I could be of help, mine goes in the dryer today.

o