Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loisflan

Problem with fusible not sticking

loisflan
11 years ago

Have any of you experienced a problem with the fusible not sticking to the fabric. I've used HeatnBond Feather Lite on regular cotton fabric with excellent results. I am trying to use it on batik (which has been washed), and it refuses to stick to the fabric. What's up?

Comments (10)

• loisflan
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm wondering if it has something to do with the piecing on the fabric. It's a kind of braid, so there are a lot of seams. I tried it on a scrap of the batik, and it stuck. Maybe I need a heavier fusible.

• kathi_mdgd
    11 years ago

Looks like you've asked and answered your own question!!! LOL
    Kathi

• wendyfaye
    11 years ago

I'm not a fusing expert, but here are a couple of things that I've learned. Fabric should be pre-washed cause sometimes the sizing will interfer. And, it is possible to KILL the fusible by heating it too much, or too many times. But I think you are probably onto something if there are seams in the piece you are trying to fuse.

Whatcha makin' ? ;)

Faye

• loisflan
    Original Author
    11 years ago

It's a pattern called Sunshine Pineapple. I've pieced the pineapple bodies, and that's where I'm having trouble with the fusible not sticking. I'll try again tonight, and I'll make sure I'm not overheating the fusible. I may stop on the way home and buy a heavier product too.

• nannykins
    11 years ago

Oh! That's a beauty!!!
    Theresa

• magothyrivergirl
    11 years ago

Lois, are you fusing the entire body of the pineapple? A heavier fusible product will give you a stiff pineapple, especially if you are fusing the whole pineapple.
    I use a different method taught by Sue Nichols, an award winning machine applique quilter. I recommend reading her book. The Quilt Shop may have a copy. Only the outer ring of the pineapple will have fusible and it will be soft.