Return to the Quilting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Problem with fusible not sticking

Posted by loisf (My Page) on
Wed, May 23, 12 at 21:06

Have any of you experienced a problem with the fusible not sticking to the fabric. I've used HeatnBond Feather Lite on regular cotton fabric with excellent results. I am trying to use it on batik (which has been washed), and it refuses to stick to the fabric. What's up?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Problem with fusible not sticking

I'm wondering if it has something to do with the piecing on the fabric. It's a kind of braid, so there are a lot of seams. I tried it on a scrap of the batik, and it stuck. Maybe I need a heavier fusible.

o

I'm wondering if it has something to do with the piecing on the fabric. It's a kind of braid, so there are a lot of seams. I tried it on a scrap of the batik, and it stuck. Maybe I need a heavier fusible.

o

Looks like you've asked and answered your own question!!! LOL
Kathi

o

I'm not a fusing expert, but here are a couple of things that I've learned. Fabric should be pre-washed cause sometimes the sizing will interfer. And, it is possible to KILL the fusible by heating it too much, or too many times. But I think you are probably onto something if there are seams in the piece you are trying to fuse.

Whatcha makin' ? ;)

Faye

o

It's a pattern called Sunshine Pineapple. I've pieced the pineapple bodies, and that's where I'm having trouble with the fusible not sticking. I'll try again tonight, and I'll make sure I'm not overheating the fusible. I may stop on the way home and buy a heavier product too.

Photobucket

o

Oh! That's a beauty!!!
Theresa

o

Lois, are you fusing the entire body of the pineapple? A heavier fusible product will give you a stiff pineapple, especially if you are fusing the whole pineapple.