Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fivewillows

First time quilting....where to start?

fivewillows
10 years ago

Hi all!
First time here on the site. I am new to quilting , but am going to try machine quilting! I can see this going one of two ways:)
This lego man quilt is for a nephew going through a tough time, thought a snuggle with his fave lego might help in some small way. Am completely stumped as to where to start... Do I use different colours, different patterns, straight lines, diagonal, hmmmm
Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

Comments (9)

• grammyp
    10 years ago

Welcome to the forum. I LOVE your Lego man quilt. My grandson would be wild over it.

I see straight lines on the man to outline the blocks and make it look like stacked blocks, perhaps black stitching to make a face. Then outline the border blocks and put circles to look like the tops of blocks. For the white background maybe some straight diagonal lines to make diamonds or squares.

I'm sure he will love it.

beverly

• teresa_nc7
    10 years ago

After thinking about this overnight, I totally agree with Beverly! You need some circles in the border blocks to mimic the tops of the Lego pieces. If you are going to try free motion quilting, you need to lower the feed teeth on the machine and practice puzzle piece shaped quilting on a scrap quilt sandwich before you start in on your quilt.

Remember to start in the center of the quilt and move outward: Lego man first, white border around him second, pieced border third, then white border or other color of final border last.

Do you have a walking foot/even feed foot for your machine? This is needed if you want to do straight line quilting, otherwise, the top and bottom of the quilt will not feed evenly through the machine and you will end up with some unsightly puckers.

Great quilt!
    Teresa (who raised two Lego fan little boys)

• Freda
    10 years ago