Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wren_garden

Extention table for Vintage Singer 15-91?

wren_garden
9 years ago

Just purchased a 1955 Singer 15-91 to use for free motion quilting. It sits in it's carry case base on my work table. What have you done or seen used for an extension table? Can I purchase one of the universal ones? They appear as if they would not work with the case base the machine sits in. Just finished my first quilt and am ready for the next adventure. I am a retired professional sewer who is now going to have fun creating. I look forward to learning from you all.

Thanks
Elizabeth

Comments (3)

• K8Orlando
    9 years ago

Hi Elizabeth and welcome to the forum! As a professional sewer I'm sure you have lots to share with us as well!

I have almost exactly that same Singer, inherited from my mother, but I have to admit it's not one of the machines I use very often. It should fit in any of the wooden sewing table cabinets that were so widely used in the mid-century. I see them in vintage shops pretty often; I'm always searching for one of the folding tables with the insert for a Singer Featherweight but haven't found one yet. But I think you're on the right track with the universal sewing table extensions. Those should be adjustable enough to fit nicely around your machine.

If you are adventurous, you could cut into an existing table and set the machine down in it. There are instructions for that process floating around the internet.

Kate

• magothyrivergirl
    9 years ago

Welcome Elizabeth~now you get to sew for FUN!!!
    The company linked below is highly recommended by Bonnie Hunter, Quiltvilleblogspot in her Tips & Techniques section on her blog. If I recall, she was using one in a recent blog or QuiltCam on one of her many vintage or antique machines while still in the wooden case.