Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20014168

qotd: 5/19/11

User
12 years ago

When I bought my Juki last year, it came with a $200 gift certificate from the dealer. It turns out that because my machine is Juki's break into the home quilting machine market, they don't yet have many specialty feet for it, other than the several that came with it.

I was interested, particularly, in a rolled hem stitch for doing things such as napkins. Well, lo & behold, when I searched their site, I found a Brother serger that has that function, plus several others, built into it for under $200. So I bought it with my gift certificate.

BUT, and this is a huge BUT: I've never used a serger before.

So, the question of the day is:

Do you use a serger (particularly as related to quilting), what functions do you use, and what advice can you give someone who's barely glanced at them before, but now has one sitting in the box by the backdoor... And I'm too intimidated to even unbox it!

Comments (11)

• cindykg23
    12 years ago

Kay,

Lucky you! - a new toy to play with!

I use mine to serge the edge of my quilt before it's quilted. It closes up any of those pesky little outer seams that sometimes come apart in all my handling of the top. And this helps a lot during that final pressing before it goes on the longarm. I serge again after it's quilted before I attach the binding. The serging seals together all 3 layers, making the binding easier to attach, IMHO.
    I'm anxious to read the other ideas. We don't always use our equipment to it's fullest advantage.

Have fun!
    ~Cindy

• lindaoh_gw
    12 years ago

Kay, I have had a serger for many years. The first thing is to learn to thread it. That was the most intimidating feature for me. My serger is about 23 years old so yours may not be the same, but there is an order in which to thread it. If it isn't threaded in the correct order it breaks the thread.