Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quiltingfox

Batting Suggestions Needed

quiltingfox
11 years ago

I am making a Card Tricks queen-size quilt for my parents. My dad wants the quilt to feel heavy. I will be hand-quilting the layers of this quilt. Typically in the past when I have made them quilts I use poly-fil high loft batting, but dad complains that the quilt has no weight to it. I will not use wool for batting, but do ya'll have any suggestions on what I could use for batting to give it some weight? Should I use a layer of some sort of batting and a layer of flannel as a secondary batting? What kind of batting makes a quilt feel heavy? Please bare in mind that this will be a very utilitarian quilt it will get washed a lot and used for many years I need something that will be dryer friendly and dry on medium heat in a dryer within a 1 to 2 hour time period. Thanks for your help!

Best to you,
Sandra

Comments (13)

• loisflan
    11 years ago

I'm no expert on batting, but I would think that a 100% cotton batting might give you the weight you are looking for. It would certainly make the quilt heavier than the poly.

• anitastitch
    11 years ago

I've noticed that the more quilting on a quilt, the heavier it seems. So with cotton batting as suggested and maybe a little more quilting, you may put some extra weight on that quilt.

• calliope
    11 years ago

If you want weight, but not the 'flatness' of a cotton batting, then I'd suggest you at least look into wool battings. They come in two weights, both light and heavy. I've read that they are exceptionally easy to needle when doing hand quilting, though I have not tried them yet. I have done bamboo, synthetic, cottons and blends of poly/cotton.

• quiltingfox
    Original Author
    11 years ago